Thoroughly Clean Face Wash—Original

• Leaves skin feeling clean and silky
• Works gently as it cleans thoroughly
• Helps improve skin clarity through regular use

The extract of Hawaii’s fragrant Awapuhi plant brings additional softening properties to this gentle, but effective cleanser already rich in soothing extract of Goldenseal and essential oil of Chamomile. Eco-Harvest® Tea Tree Oil leaves a clean that feels oil-free, and with regular use, helps improve your skin’s texture and radiance.

2009 Better Nutrition Best of Beauty Awards

8.5 fl oz

Price:$9.29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love! Been using this face wash religiously for a couple of years and refuse to use anything else. I am nearly 30, have oily/combination/sensitive skin, with past sun damage and prone to breakouts. I never thought I would receive compliments on how now my skin looks, but since using this, I have. I also use Desert Essence Jojoba oil every night as my moisturizer. This usually successfully treats and minimizes any breakout I ever have pretty quickly. Now I NEVER wear foundation, probably have to apply concealer one day out of every six months, and only use a super light/translucent mineral face powder. I am finally extremely confident with my skin's condition!!
Date published: 2013-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing even for sensitive skin Perfect! I have roseacea so my skin is super sensitive and can't use most chemicals. I have been using this stuff for almost two years now and I will never go back to traditional facewashes. Moisturizer/sunscreen goes on perfectly without causing breakouts, and I have been getting compliments on how great my skin looks (which is a kiss to the heavens for roseacea patients). Only thing I would recommend is be careful to not get it on your lips as it will dry your lips out. Oh, and it does great removing mascara! My Dr. told me that tea tree oil was too harsh for my skin and told me to try some rx brand - I got bad again so I went back to my stuff and he agreed. USE this stuff!!! IT IS GREAT!
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Former acne sufferer I suffer from adult acne & have combination/oily skin. I've tried infomercial products & many of the drug store ones but became uncomfortable with their ingredients and did not experience long lasting results. A sales representative from my health food store recommended this face wash. The fist week I started using it I saw results. Very few blemishes, less redness, and less oil on my skin yet not dry. I have been using it regularly for over 3 years now and break outs are a thing of the past. I still get the occasional blemish but it is very rare and when I do, I spot treat it with Desert Essence Blemish Touch Stick. I love this line of products!
Date published: 2010-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shower Room must have from a professiona This product is like miracle in a bottle. I would love to keep it a secret but why not share the wealth. This facial cleansers treats acne. Leaves skin feeling clean with no build up. Not only does it work for your face it works on all the skin on the body. For example althletes (tinea) jock itch (yeast). I keep in my shower use daily and watch a difference from just the first time and for a week. Your complextion gets better the texture. I being a proffessional skin care therapist (male estetician) know when your skin looks good you feel better and your attitude improves. All in all I rate 5 stars!
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for Combination Skin I bought this because I was interested in trying something other than my trust St. Ive's wash. The smell takes some getting use to but otherwise this is a promising product for controlling acne. I have fewer pimples that just "pop up" and it makes your face feel squeaky clean afterwords (but not overly dry). Avoid getting in your eyes--it really stings!! It's still necessary to have/use a face scrub for exfoliation as well since this only controls blemishes. Oh and it's a good value--I have barely used up any since buying it. A few pumps is all you need. The only thing I wish is that its consistency wasn't so much of a liquid.
Date published: 2010-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Results, Great Skin, Great Price, Bad Smell I looked up these reviews today to see what other people think and I also agree with the majority, BEST RESULTS EVER! I have been using this for about 2 years and my skin has never looked better. I am 34 and for the first time since I was 15, my face looks great! And long time friends have noticed too. I only use it once a day to limit over drying. I went with 4 stars only because the smell is so strong and not exactly pleasant. While I was pregnant I actually gagged quite a bit from it, BUT the motivation to live with the smell is all in the ingredient list. Last, for a great working, natural product, the price is just right!
Date published: 2014-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2 years strong!!! I have been using this cleanser for 2 years now. It is the only product that I have ever used consecutively for such a long time and it has never gotten boring or old. It always suds wonderfully and leaves me with that "squeaky clean" feeling but without the harsh dryness or irritation. I use the daily moisturizer and together these products leave my face pore-less, smooth and perfectly hydrated. It also works year round, my skin is less oily in summer than usual and hydrated in winter. I am constantly given compliments on how beautiful my skin is. I have recommended this product to several coworkers who had problematic acne and they now have beautiful skin as well.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Face Wash EVER I LOVE this stuff! I wash my face once or twice a day with it, and it has improved so much. I have bad hormonal acne, and this has helped tremendously! I won't say I never get spots anymore, but they are significantly diminished and go away quickly. It lasts forever and is a good value, I bought the refill bottle and I'll be set for a long time. It is very liquid, which is something to get used to at first, but once you rub your hands together it starts foaming. My only complaint (which is not really one) is that the pump clogs up frequently, but I usually just pour out of a small bottle into my palm instead.
Date published: 2010-10-23
  • 2015-04-18T08:06CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_3255NDE, PRD, sort_relevancy
  • clientName_desertessence

No

Animal Derived Ingredients
Animal Testing
Parabens
Artificial Fragrances or Dyes
Petroleum Compounds: Mineral Oil, Petrolatum or Paraffin
SLS
PEGS, PPG, MEA, DEA or TEA
Glycols
Phthalates

Yes

Vegetarian/Vegan
Recyclable
Gluten Free
Biodegradable
Renewable Sources
Cruelty Free

Castile Soap (Water (Aqua), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Tall Oil, Potassium Hydroxide), Glycerin, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil*, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal) Root Extract, Hedychium Coronarium Root Extract (Awapuhi), Fucus Vesiculosus Extract (Bladderwrack), Cymbopogon Martini Oil (Palmarosa), Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Peel Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Oil, Callitris Intratropica Wood Oil (Blue Cypress)
*Eco-Harvest®

Moisten face with warm water and gently massage a small amount of cleanser in circular motions onto cheeks, chin, forehead and neck, avoiding contact with eyes. Continue for approximately one minute, then rinse thoroughly with cool water. Follow this procedure twice daily. Avoid contact with eyes. In case of eye contact, rinse immediately with plenty of water. Contact a physician if symptoms persist.